Dr. John Tooker is the Emeritus Executive Vice President and CEO of the American College of Physicians (ACP)–the largest medical specialty society in the U.S., representing more than 130,000 internal medicine specialists and subspecialists, and medical students. Dr. Tooker served as the Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of ACP from 2002 through July 2010.

As CEO Emeritus, Dr. Tooker supports ACP’s mission to foster excellence and professionalism in medicine. In this capacity, he represents ACP to select external organizations, conducts special projects for the College and contributes to health care reform through service on national non-profit boards, particularly in the areas of quality improvement and health information technology. He currently serves on the boards of NCQA, which he previously chaired, the National Quality Forum, where he chairs the CEO Search Committee, on the Advisory Committee of Health Level 7 (HL7), and on the board of Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA).

Dr. Tooker has been a frequent speaker on topics such as health information technology, the patient-centered medical home (PCMH), provider reimbursement, and quality improvement. In 2009, Dr. Tooker was voted one of the “100 Most Powerful People in Health Care” by Modern Healthcare Magazine.

Prior to joining ACP in 1995 as Deputy EVP and Chief Operating Officer, Dr. Tooker was Assistant Chief of the Department of Medicine and Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency at the Maine Medical Center in Portland, Maine, where he practiced internal medicine and pulmonary and critical care medicine.

Dr. Tooker earned his medical degree at University of Colorado School of Medicine, completed an internal medicine residency at the Bellevue Hospital Center and the University of Colorado, and a pulmonary/critical care fellowship at the Maine Medical Center and the University of Washington. He is a graduate of the Fox School of Business at Temple University, and is an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.