The Academy Scholars Program is a two-year program intended for faculty who wish to enhance their teaching, education research, and administrative skills.

The Academy Scholars program consists of:

  • Seminars and workshops covering aspects of education research, clinical and didactic teaching, and education program administration and leadership.
  • Completion and publication of an education scholarly project
  • Participation in other Academy and MITE seminars and workshops.
  • Observed teaching sessions and formal mentoring

Scholars attend two seminars a month (Sept – May). Clinical and/or administrative supervisor (e.g., medical director, Department Chief) are asked to provide release time (approximately 5% FTE), and the program provides financial support available for salary and/or research project expenses.

Through a competitive application process, eligibility requirements are:

  • Employees or affiliates of Maine Health or an affiliated teaching site
  • Education role for health professions learners and/or residents
  • Motivation to make education an important part of your career

Projects are expected to be in their early planning stage and the program will assist you in developing and implementing the project.

Identifying a mentor for your project is important for its success. Academy members and Scholar faculty can also assist you in identifying a project mentor.

Do not hesitate to contact the program directors to discuss your application: and

“The META program opened doors to exciting opportunities that have changed the course of my professional career. As a META Scholar, I not only honed my teaching skills, but also experienced many facets of medical education that I had never explored before, such as leadership, career-planning and research. I especially enjoyed the camaraderie–the relationships I established through the META Scholars program will be lasting ones.”

Vicki Hayes, MD
2013-15 Scholar

Academy Scholars (Class of 2026)

  • Alison N. Miller, MD, Family Medicine
  • Amy Harvey, PA-C, Adult Inpatient Medicine
  • Edward Pilkington III, MD, Internal Medicine
  • Hillary Chickering, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CMSRN, Clinical Nurse Educator
  • Reverend Heather Weidemann, M.Div., Spiritual Care
  • Rhianon Ruiqin Liu, MD, MA, Palliative Care
  • Tiffani McDonough, MD, Pediatric Neurology and Epilepsy

Academy Scholars (Class of 2025)

  • Laura Madigan-McCown, DBE, HEC-C, Ethics Consult Services
  • Mark Goode, PA-C, MMP AIM PA Service
  • Sarah Dodwell, MD, Neurology
  • Sarah Hipkens, MD, Addiction Medicine
  • Tim Kenny, MLS, Library & Knowledge Services

Academy Scholars (Class of 2024)

  • Brittany Lachance, DO, Neurology
  • Emily Erickson, MD, Family Medicine
  • Kristine Pleacher, MD, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
  • Michael DeFrancisco, MSN, RN, CCRN-CSC-CMC, Cardio Thoracic Intensive Care Unit
  • Sanchita Bose, MD, Urology

Academy Scholars (Class of 2023)

  • Abtin Farahmand, MD, Endocrinology
  • Amy Moore, MLIS, Library
  • Katherine Liu, MD, Medicine
  • Maria Egger, PA-C, Geriatrics
  • Maxwell Afari, MD, Cardiology
  • Nora Fagan, RN, MSN, BScN, CMSRN, Surgical Oncology
  • Rebecca Harvey, MD, Otolaryngology

Academy Scholars (Class of 2022)

  • Brandy Brown, LCSW, The Gender Clinic
  • Corrin Martineau, PharmD, BCACP, CDOE, Pharmacy
  • Elizabeth Eisenhardt, MD, Adult Medicine Clinic
  • Malia Haddock, MS, PMHNP-BC, PSLC
  • Micheline (Shelly) Chipman, RN, DME Simulation

Academy Scholars (Class of 2021)

  • Eric Brown, MD, Anesthesiology
  • Jeffrey R. Walawender, DDS, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Jillian Gregory, DO, Pediatrics
  • Ruth E. Frydman, MD, Psychiatry
  • Tom Reynolds, DO, Pediatric Neurology

Academy Scholars (Class of 2020)

  • Angela Leclerc PA-C, MS, Critical Care
  • Jason F. Hine, MD, Emergency Medicine
  • Rebecca Hutchinson, MD, Palliative Medicine
  • William Sauer, MD, Anesthesiology

Academy Scholars (Class of 2019)

  • Annabelle Norwood, MD, Medicine
  • Carly McAteer, MD, Family Medicine
  • Christopher Turner, MD, Surgery
  • Kathryn Brouillette, MD, Medicine
  • Matthew Buttarazzi, MD, Medicine